The Storter Collection
George Storter moved from northern Florida in 1881, to what is now Everglades City where he farmed on the banks of the Barron River. He was joined in 1887 by his sons Robert Bembery and George, Jr., who bought the homestead that later became the Rod and Gun Lodge. The original farmhouse was enlarged to include a trading post which served the native Indians as well as local population. He also accommodated sports fishermen and at times used the rooms in his house for school and church activites.
The family was prominent in this sparsely settled “last frontier” of Southern Florida, until leaving in 1921, when Barron Collier began buying up the town of Everglades to serve as his headquarters for the construction of the Tamiami Trail.
The Storter Collection is a unique glimpse of Southwest Florida’s earliest accounts of history recorded in words, pictures and artifacts created by a member of one of our pioneering families.